Skip to content

Cork to Dublin, 11th to 13th July 2011 (day 1)

July 16, 2011

I thought I’d give my new (well, one year old) light touring bike its first real tour.  One Tubus Vega  attached, and I set off from Monkstown in Cork on Monday morning.  I traveled light – two Ortlieb front rollers, with my small backpack in a compression bag on the rear rack – total weight around 8kg.  Credit card touring, obviously.

My first, around 110km, started off from Monkstown, taking the little ferry to Cobh (1 euro), then following minor roads to Midleton, and the N25 (hopping onto minor roads where possible) to Youghal.  Measuring distance to Youghal proved quite difficult.

It was an easy ride, via the pretty little town of Ardmore, on to Dungarvan.

The local wildlife took a lot of interest in my lunchtime sandwich.

From Dungarvan I took the R676 north towards Carrick-on-Suir, where the wildlife was a little cuter, and a little more shy.

The road was quite and very pleasant to ride, although the surface is a little rougher as you get closer to Carrick-on-Suir.  I arrived at the town about 5pm, and stayed at the Carrick Hotel on the main street – I think the only hotel in the area.  My room was very nice and good value.  I’m not sure you could say the same for the menu, I went down the road to the Far East Chinese restaurant… pretty much empty, but at least the food was suitably carb rich and tasty.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

