Skip to content

Ballinastoe in the Snow

February 26, 2013

There was snow over the weekend in Wicklow – on Sunday it was gorgeous, I rode around the trails in the cold sunshine, but I forgot my camera. I was back today, but most of the snow was mostly gone except for sheltered spots. But it was still a pleasure to hear the crunch of clean snow under the wheels, even if only for a few minutes. The conditions were difficult under a dark grey sky, with a mix of crushed ice, slush, snow and mud, and even some dry sections on the trail. But the bike handled it all fine, I’m constantly amazed at the grip of the Nobby Nics in all conditions. I only fell off once (thankfully, onto some snow).

The ridge top overlooking Lough Tay was surprisingly snow free, I guess it was more exposed to the sunshine of yesterday. But there was a ghostly silence over the landscape – the roads are iced up and impassable, I only saw a few dedicated hikers doing the Wicklow Way – and a handful of mountain bikers. The final sections down of course were the usual mud, lots of scrubbing to do before I could get in the car.

 

Ballinastoe trail

 
Near the top

SONY DSC

 
SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

